5 Taylor DeLeon
5 Taylor DeLeon
Height: 5-1
Year: So.
Hometown: Summerville, SC
High School: Ashley Ridge HS
Position: OF
Major: Elementary Education
Bats/Throws: L/R

FMU:  First-year player at FMU....Signed during Dec. 2016 early singing period....Could start in the outfield as a freshman....A slap hitter....Has good speed and like to get dirt on her uniform.....Fills a need after graduating of two four-year starters in the outfield.....Has some pop in her bat and can swing away as well as slap.....Excited about becoming a Patriot.....Looking forward to what she will accomplish both on the field and in the classroom....Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll 2018.....FMU Swamp Fox Athletic-Academic Honor Roll 2017 (fall), 2018 (spring).....Baptist Collegiate Ministries (BCM).

PERSONAL: 

  • Born Taylor Renee DeLeon in North Charleston, S.C.
  • Graduate of Ashley Ridge High School, where she played under the direction of coach Larissa Shannon
  • Selected to play in the 2017 S.C. Coaches Association for Women’s Sports North-South All-Star Games
  • As a senior, hit .493, one of the highest averages in the state, and posted a .511 on-base percentage
  • Batted lead-off as a junior and hit .492 with a pair of doubles
  • Earned 2016 All-Region honors and helped the Swamp Foxes to a 16-3 record and an appearance in the district championship game
  • Nickname is TD

PERSONAL FAVORITES: 

  • As a child what you wanted to be when you grew up: Teacher
  • Favorite Superhero: Spider-Man (he wears a cool outfit and spider webs come out his hand which is pretty cool)
  • Favorite Athlete: Deshaun Watson.
  • Favorite Sports Team: Clemson University Tiger football
  • Favorite Movie or TV Show: Titanic
  • Favorite Food: Tacos
  • Favorite Vacation Spot: The lake.
  • Twitter Handle: Tdeleon5
  • Instagram Account: __justtaylor__
  • Your Motivation Music: Hip Hop/Rap
  • Favorite Thing About FMU: I fell in love with FMU because I love how small the campus is; I love all the paths through the campus and that when I visited the campus for the first time, everyone I met was very nice and welcoming; it was a great feeling to have everyone there helping me and making sure I was comfortable with the change from high school to college
  • Favorite Off-Field Activity: Boating and fishing
  • Goals for Upcoming Season:  Come back better than I was last year; that means striving for a .400 batting average and on-base percentage
  • Interesting Notes: I have a weird and crazy obsession with penguins (would have 50 penguins as pets if someone would let me); I have a penguin blanket I take everywhere with me and every time I go to an aquarium I cry tears of joy when I see them
  • Brush With Greatness: My youth group growing up would go to Liberty University for an event called Winterfest and I got a pass to go backstage and meet my favorite christian band For King and County. Also, at the same event the year prior, I met Humble Tip, a Christian rapper, and he signed my scarf and I got to talk to him for a few minutes